New Maps Change Lowell Legislative Districts

Michigan Capitol Lansing

When Lowell-area voters head to the polls in 2022, most will see new district numbers and new names on their ballots.

Every ten years, legislative districts are updated based on Census Bureau data. The latest changes have moved Lowell into a new congressional district and have broken up the community across multiple state house and senate seats.

Historically, the Michigan Legislature has been responsible for drawing up new redistricting maps. However, to minimize political influence over the process, Michigan voters approved creation of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission in 2018.

The commission – comprised of Republican, Democratic and independent members – held hearings across the state and proposed several maps for public comment. In late December, the final maps were approved and, barring any legal challenge, will go into effect for 2022 elections.

Here’s a look at Lowell’s new legislative districts.

Lowell Congressional District

Previous district: District 3

New district: District 2

Previously, all of Kent County was included in the compact 3rd District which was anchored by Grand Rapids. This district is currently represented by Congressman Peter Meijer, and the seat was held for many years by Justin Amash.

Now, the eastern section of Kent County – including the City of Lowell, Lowell Charter Township, Vergennes Township, Bowne Township and Grattan Township – have been peeled off and attached to District 2. This district covers a large geographic area from Manistee County in the north to Barry County in the south. It also runs from the lakeshore to as far west as Gladwin County. Ada Township will remain in District 3.

Currently, no incumbent lives in District 2. However, there is no requirement to live in the congressional district you represent, and John Moolenaar from Midland has announced plans to run for the seat. Moolenaar currently represents District 4 in the U.S. Congress. Under the new maps, Midland has become part of District 8.

Note: Michigan’s two U.S. Senators – currently Debbie Stabenow and Gary Peters – represent the entire state so redistricting does not affect these positions.

Lowell State Senate Districts

Previous districts:

  • City of Lowell, Lowell Charter Township, Bowne Township and Ada Township: District 29
  • Vergennes Township and Grattan Township: District 28
  • Keene Township and Boston Township: District 19

New districts:

  • City of Lowell, Lowell Charter Township, Vergennes Township, Bowne Township and Boston Township: District 18
  • Grattan Township and Keene Township: District 33
  • Ada Township: District 30

Currently, most of the Lowell area is represented by Senator Winnie Brinks who was elected for the 29th District. Meanwhile, Vergennes and Grattan Townships have been in the 28th District which is currently held by Senator Mark Huizenga. Those who live in the Ionia County townships of Boston and Keene have been part of Senate District 19 which is represented by Senator John Bizon.

Now, Vergennes Township and Boston Township join the municipalities to the south and west in the new 18th District while Ada Township moves to District 30 and Grattan Township and Keene Township become part of the new District 33

With the exception of Ada Township, almost all of Lowell is assured of new representation in the State Senate this year. Since Brinks lives in Grand Rapids and Huizenga lives in Walker, Ada Township residents are the only voters who might see familiar names on their ballots in November. Everyone else will likely be voting for new-to-them senators.

Lowell State House Districts

Previous district: District 86

New districts:

  • City of Lowell, Lowell Charter Township, Bowne Township, Boston Township and Keene Township: District 78
  • Vergennes Township and Grattan Township: District 90
  • Ada Township: District 81

Previously, virtually all of the greater Lowell area was included in House District 86, currently held by Representative Thomas Albert. The only exceptions were Ionia County residents living in Boston and Keene Townships; they were part of the 87th District, which is held by Representative Julie Calley.

Now, the area has been split among three districts, and residents will be voting for new representatives in the fall. That would have been the case anyway as Albert and Calley cannot run for the Michigan House again because of term limits.

To explore the new maps further or zoom in on a particular area, visit the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.