Lowell Councilmembers Honored as Graduates of 2022 Elected Officials Academy

The City of Lowell provided the following press release from the Michigan Municipal League.


LANSING, Michigan — The Michigan Municipal League is honoring 18 graduates of its 2022 Elected Officials Academy.

Now in its 25th year, the Elected Officials Academy is an ongoing four-level program that educates and recognizes elected officials across the state for their dedication to becoming as professional and knowledgeable as possible in the role of public servant. The Elected Officials Academy, a voluntary education and recognition program, was created in 1997 by a board of elected officials working with League staff.

The officials were honored during the League’s CapCon that took place in Lansing April 18-19.

“The Elected Officials Academy is an outstanding program that helps local officials improve their understanding of municipal governance, which allows them to better serve their communities and constituents. We are thankful to have so many dedicated public servants who have participated in the program this year,” said League Board President Barbara Ziarko, Sterling Heights Councilmember.

Councilmember Marty Chambers is second from the left.

Recipients of the 2022 Level One Education Award who have completed 25 academy credits are the following elected officials: Port Huron Councilmember Anita Ashford, Greenville Councilmember James Barrus, Novi Councilmember Laura Casey, Lowell Mayor Pro Tem Marty Chambers, Owosso Councilmember Janae Fear, District 65 Michigan State Representative Jaime Greene, Hastings Mayor David Tossava, and Harper Woods Councilmember Ivery Toussant, Jr.

Mayor Mike DeVore is on the far right.

The recipients of the 2022 Level Two Leadership Award who have completed 55 academy credits are: Lowell Mayor Mike DeVore, Farmington Mayor Pro Tem Joe LaRussa, Greenville Councilor Larry Moss, and Hastings Mayor David Tossava.

The recipients of the 2022 Level Three Governance Award who have completed 100 academy credits are: Montrose Mayor Colleen Brown, Saline Councilmember Janet Dillon, Auburn Mayor Lee Kilbourn, Harper Woods Mayor Valerie Kindle, and Port Huron Mayor Pauline Repp.

The 2022 Level Four Ambassador Award, the highest-level that is awarded for the completion of 150 academy credits, was earned by Dearborn Heights Treasurer Lisa Hicks-Clayton.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.